Reviews

Manta VGA to HDMI with 1080p Scaler

4.2 (17 reviews)

Out of the Box

Assurance - 11/1/2012 7:27:16 AM

10 found this review helpful


Pros: We have all been frustrated with the concept of Plug and Play. Actually it should be called Plug and spend four hours and six phone calls before it plays. I was skeptical about a $100 product that sounded to good to be true. Surprised! Shocked. It took less than four minutes to setup. It worked instantly; right out of the box. I have a laptop connected through the box to a 32" HD TV. The video quality is absolutely HD. Buy with confidence.

Cons: None

Other:

10 out of 12 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous - 2/25/2013 9:54:52 AM

6 found this review helpful


Pros: Excelent

Cons:

Other:

6 out of 7 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous - 9/30/2013 5:50:02 PM

4 found this review helpful


Pros: help did get right back to me,but their sugestions didnt help

Cons: still havnt got it to work right.tried all resolutions and still screen is too big for tv

Other: dont know if its just that model panasonic or what. also cost is high compared to other brands

Company response:

Based on your earlier comments, if you are still seeing a thin slice of each edge going outside of the viewable area, that's typically a TV setting issue (not the Manta itself). You can try different resolutions, or you'll need to adjust your TV's zoom setting so that you can see the entire viewable area. By default most TVs are slightly zoomed in. On old CRT screens, the image 'shrunk' over time, so the default was to include more of the image than was designed to be seen on the screen, so man

4 out of 6 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Media Specialist

Anonymous - 1/23/2013 8:01:21 AM

3 found this review helpful


Pros: Great idea. Probably works most of the time.

Cons: Does not work with HDMI over a long distance. Be sure you get a signal repeater if the signal needs to be pushed more tha 15'. In my tests I had only 8' and 50' cables. It worked on the 8' but not on the 50'.

Other:

3 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Simply Awesome

ocdp2222 - 1/25/2013 9:40:52 AM

3 found this review helpful


Pros: Very easy to set up and use love the fact that you can switch between 720 and 1080p

Cons: None

Other: This unit is very simple to use hook up to my macbook pro and i can watch and surf the net on my 61 plasma in true HD just have to setup the display on my macbook and your good to go simply awesome

3 out of 6 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Frustrated

Anonymous - 1/11/2013 12:01:55 PM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Easy to set up

Cons: Worked perfectly the first time I used it. Then TV said no signal. I called left voicemail, then tried the online chat. The person determined my laptop is not comatible due to resolution. I asked how did it work when first connected, that is when the chat was disconnected.

Other: TV is Insignia purchased 1 month ago, laptop is Lenovo purchased less than a year ago.

Company response:

It sounds the device should be compatible with your computer, but it might be a resolution issue that can be resolved with some simple setting changes. Please feel free to contact us and we will get this issue resolved.

2 out of 2 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Simply Awesome

Anonymous - 2/2/2013 7:25:46 PM

2 found this review helpful


Pros: Easy set up no driver or software needed just plug in set up the settings on the labtop and your go to go

Cons: None

Other: This device is awesome just what i needed to watch and stream movies on my macbook in true HD. The price was right really fast shipping like the fact that it comes in its only package box that you can use again and again looking forward to my next order thanks again

2 out of 4 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

at lest it is working

John - 5/1/2014 1:24:34 PM

1 found this review helpful


Pros: it works ok just emails ,i have hi speed internet so i can see movies, not seeing the movies!

Cons:

Other:

Company response:

It sounds like you're having trouble watching videos through the Manta? Please get in touch with our tech team and we'll be happy to figure out what might be happening.

1 out of 2 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Good buy

Anonymous - 3/18/2014 11:32:56 AM

1 found this review helpful


Pros: Works as advertised, and the image is clear and crisp, sound is transferred well

Cons: At some resolutions, a portion of the image is clipped, but this may be a problem on the TV end.

Other: Would definitely recommend this to convert VGA to HDMI

Company response:

What you're describing does happen with some TVs. Often it is only at certain resolutions, it's helpful to try different resolutions, or you might be able to change the zoom settings or disable overscan on your TV.

1 out of 1 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Manta

Fred von Briesen - 5/17/2013 12:07:03 PM

1 found this review helpful


Pros: Works as Advertised, straight and easy setup

Cons: Manta box does get a litle warm - not really a Con, but was not expected.

Other:

1 out of 3 found this helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Results: 17